Successfully introduce and certify DIN EN ISO 9001: 2015

What is ISO 9001 about?

DIN EN ISO 9001: 2015 specifies the requirements for implementing a quality management system. These requirements support companies in setting up processes that, on the one hand, predictably increase customer satisfaction and, on the other hand, support the stability and success of the company.

Starting with the requirements for processes and process management, through tasks of leadership and management as well as aspects of the planning of the management system to specific requirements for the value-adding processes, control loops and improvement measures, DIN EN ISO 9001: 2015 covers all aspects of a modern management system.

A company certified according to DIN EN ISO 9001: 2015 shows externally that it has met the minimum of these requirements and is therefore a reliable partner for customers, authorities, suppliers and other organizations.

What are the challenges during the implementation?

The DIN EN ISO 9001: 2015 is written as a standard in a very formal language. Understanding these takes practice and experience. So the first challenge is to avoid misunderstandings.

DIN EN ISO 9001: 2015 introduces the risk-based approach. This means that the standard does not make any concrete specifications for the implementation of the requirements. These implementations must be determined in the company on the basis of the industry requirements as well as the risk for the company, customers and society. So the second challenge is to find the right level in implementation; As much as necessary, as little as possible.

DIN EN ISO 9001: 2015 is a process-oriented standard. This means that the individual requirements must not be interpreted separately from the overall standard. The relationship between the requirements is what makes the standard so strong. Recognizing these relationships and knowing their typical implementation in the company is difficult, especially at the beginning, for the quality departments and management. The third challenge is to understand the overall logic of quality management according to DIN EN ISO 9001: 2015 and to align it with the company's strategic approach.

The final challenge is to ensure that the quality management system does not become a paper tiger. It's not about just creating documents, but about supporting employees and managers in the company in doing their day-to-day work for the satisfaction of customers.

Selected case studies

ISO 9001: 2015 - mechanical engineering

initial situation

As part of the ISO 9001 certification, our customer relied on a management system made up of a wide variety of document templates. Rapid growth meant that the management system and the real company structure, with its processes, differed more and more from each other. The result was that some discrepancies were found in the recertification audit.

After DECURA got involved, we first got an overview of the risks and problems at the customer with our own GAP audit. We were able to identify the customer's understanding of his QM system as the core cause. There was specific QM documentation that differed from the operational reports and documents. So a parallel structure was built for QM.

ISO 9001: 2015 - software development

initial situation

Our customer is an established software developer with 12 employees and a network of around 20 freelance developers.

Due to the requirements for a public tender, an ISO 9001 certification had to be proven within five months.

The management wanted to use this impulse not only to prove the certification, but also to improve the business processes and the software validation process.

IATF 16949: 2016 - Motor and Battery Production

initial situation

Due to a legal change in China, our customer had to prove the certification of one of his production lines according to IATF 16949 within four months. At this point in time, the plant was exclusively certified according to ISO 9001.

Market approval for an entire product category was in jeopardy.

Elektro-Auto Aufladen der Batterie

DIN EN ISO 9001:2015 erfolgreich einführen und zertifizieren

Worum geht es in der ISO 9001?

Die DIN EN ISO 9001:2015 nennt die Anforderungen für die Umsetzung eines Qualitätsmanagementsystems. Diese Anforderungen unterstützen Unternehmen dabei, Prozesse aufzubauen, die auf der einen Seite die Kundenzufriedenheit vorhersehbar erhöhen und auf der anderen Seite die Stabilität und den Erfolg des Unternehmens unterstützen.

Beginnend bei den Anforderungen an Prozesse und Prozessmanagement, über Aufgaben der Führung und Leitung sowie Aspekten der Planung des Managementsystems bis hin zu konkreten Anforderungen zu den wertschöpfenden Prozessen, Regelkreisen und Verbesserungsmaßnahmen, deckt die DIN EN ISO 9001:2015 alle Aspekte eines modernen Managementsystems ab.

Ein nach DIN EN ISO 9001:2015 zertifiziertes Unternehmen zeigt nach außen, dass es das Mindestmaß dieser Anforderungen erfüllt hat und damit ein verlässlicher Partner für Kunden, Behörden, Lieferanten und sonstige Organisationen ist.

 

Was sind die Herausforderungen bei der Einführung?

Die DIN EN ISO 9001:2015 ist als Norm in einer sehr formellen Sprache geschrieben. Diese zu verstehen bedarf Übung und Erfahrung. Die erste Herausforderung besteht also darin, Missverständnisse zu vermeiden.

Die DIN EN ISO 9001:2015 führt den risikobasierten Ansatz ein. Das bedeutet, dass die Norm keine konkreten Vorgaben für die Umsetzung der Anforderungen macht. Diese Umsetzungen müssen im Unternehmen auf Grundlage der Branchenanforderungen sowie des Risikos für das Unternehmen, die Kunden und die Gesellschaft ermittelt werden. Die zweite Herausforderung ist also, das richtige Maß bei der Umsetzung zu finden; So viel wie nötig, so wenig wie möglich.

Die DIN EN ISO 9001:2015 ist eine prozessorientierte Norm. Damit dürfen die einzelnen Anforderungen nicht losgelöst von der Gesamtnorm interpretiert werden. Der Zusammenhang der Anforderungen macht die Stärke der Norm aus. Diese Zusammenhänge zu erkennen und deren typische Umsetzungen im Unternehmen zu kennen, fällt gerade zu Beginn den Qualitätsfachstellen und dem Management schwer. Die dritte Herausforderung besteht darin, die Gesamtlogik eines Qualitätsmanagements nach DIN EN ISO 9001:2015 zu verstehen und mit dem strategischen Vorgehen im Unternehmen in Einklang zu bringen.

 

Die letzte Herausforderung ist es, dafür zu sorgen, dass das Qualitätsmanagementsystem kein Papiertiger wird. Es geht nicht darum, nur Dokumente zu erstellen, sondern die Mitarbeiter und Führungskräfte im Unternehmen dabei zu unterstützen, ihre tagtägliche Arbeit für die Zufriedenheit der Kunden zu erledigen.

Ausgewählte Case Studys

ISO 9001:2015 - Maschinenbau

Ausgangssituation

Unser Kunde hatte im Rahmen der ISO 9001 Zertifizierung auf ein Managementsystem aus verschiedensten Dokumentvorlagen gesetzt. Ein rasantes Wachstum führte dazu, dass das Managementsystem und die reale Unternehmensstruktur, mit ihren Prozessen, sich immer stärker voneinander unterschieden. Die Folge war, dass im Rezertifizierungsaudit einige Abweichungen festgestellt wurden.

 

Nach der Engagierung der DECURA, haben wir uns zunächst mit einem eigenen GAP-Audit einen Überblick über die Risiken und Problematiken beim Kunden verschafft. Als Kernursache konnten wir das Verständnis des Kunden für sein QM-System identifizieren. Es gab eine spezifische QM-Dokumentation, die sich von den operativen Berichten und Dokumenten unterschied. Es wurde also ein Parallelstruktur für das QM aufgebaut.

ISO 9001:2015 - Software Entwicklung

Ausgangssituation

Unser Kunde ist ein etablierter Softwareentwickler mit 12 Mitarbeitern und einem Netzwerk von ca. 20 freiberuflich arbeitenden Entwicklern.

Aufgrund der Anforderungen für eine öffentliche Ausschreibung musste innerhalb von fünf Monaten eine ISO 9001 Zertifizierung nachgewiesen werden.

Die Geschäftsführung wollte diesen Impuls nutzen, um nicht nur die Zertifizierung nachzuweisen, sondern auch um die betriebswirtschaftlichen Abläufe und den Prozess der Softwarevalidierung zu verbessern.

IATF 16949:2016 - Motoren- und Batterieproduktion

Ausgangssituation

Unser Kunde musste, aufgrund einer gesetzlichen Änderung in China, binnen vier Monaten die Zertifizierung einer seiner Produktionslinien nach IATF 16949 nachweisen. Das Werk war zu diesem Zeitpunkt ausschließlich nach ISO 9001 zertifiziert.

Die Marktzulassung für eine komplette Produktkategorie war in Gefahr.

Elektro-Auto Aufladen der Batterie